No. 14 Columbus State Men’s Golf Earns Berth to NCAA South/Southeast Regional

Like Columbus State Athletics on Facebook! 
Follow us on Twitter!

Indianapolis – After a strong showing throughout the 2013-2014 season, the 14th-ranked Columbus State University men's golf team will see its season continue after being selected to participate in the NCAA South/Southeast Regional Tournament. The tournament will be played at the Savannah Quarters Country Club in Savannah, Ga. May 5-7.

Columbus State has now made every NCAA Tournament since becoming a NCAA sanctioned school.

Ten teams from each of the eight regions across the country were chosen for the regional competitions along with 32 players competing as individuals.

The Cougars join five other Peach Belt Conference schools representing the southeast region. PBC champion and second-ranked USC Aiken headlines the region along with No. 7 Armstrong, CSU, No. 15 Flagler, No. 17 Georgia College and Clayton State. No. 22 Queens, Erskine, Limestone and Carson-Newman round out the first half of the field.

The other half of the field comes from the south region and features eight ranked teams. Defending national champion and top-ranked Barry along with third-ranked Lynn sit atop the region meaning the top three teams in the latest Golf World/Nike Golf Division II College Coaches' Poll will be playing in the regional.

Sixth-ranked Nova Southeastern, No. 10 West Florida, No. 11 North Alabama, No. 16 Florida Tech, No. 19 Florida Southern and No. 24 Saint Leo will also be in the field next week. Rollins and Delta State round out the field of 20.

The top seven teams after play is completed will advance to the NCAA championships on May 19-23 at the Meadows Golf Course in Allendale, Mich. The top three individuals from non-qualifying teams will also qualify for the championships.

Southeast Region

1. South Carolina-Aiken [Peach Belt Conference]
2. Armstrong
3. Columbus State
4. Flagler
5. Georgia College
6. Clayton State
7. Queens (N. C.)
8. Erskine [Conference Carolinas]
9. Limestone
10. Carson-Newman [South Atlantic Conference]

Southeast Region Individuals

1. Nicolas Fonseca, Barton
2. Benedict Gebhardt, Wingate
3. Robert Prior, Lander
4. Sebastian Andersen, Mount Olive

South Region

1. Barry [Sunshine State Conference]
2. Lynn
3. Nova Southeastern
4. West Florida [Gulf South Conference]
5. North Alabama
6. Saint Leo 
7. Florida Tech
8. Rollins
9. Florida Southern
10. Delta State

South Region Individuals

1. Corey Evans, West Georgia
2. John Fordham, Valdosta State
3. Alex Jones, Valdosta State
4. Barrett Waters, West Georgia

View: Mobile | Desktop